Liquidation preferences, short-term vs long-term greedy

LiqPref

Last week I wrote about that for early stage venture investors downside protection is more a or less a nonsensical concept. An entrepreneur I know was sharp  enough to comment “Great. No more liquidation preferences at Earlybird.” I promised a follow-up blog post on liquidation preferences but while doing research I stumbled upon two blog posts that cover the subject better than I could:

The point is basically that liquidation preferences are less about downside protection and more about preventing lob-sided outcomes, aligning interests to some extent,  allowing for faster investment decisions under information asymmetry (avoiding lengthy due diligence), etc. This is why good VCs don’t care about downside protection but do care about liquidation preferences.

However there is still a ‘wrong’ way to use liquidation preferences (and other protective / minority investor rights) in my book and it has a lot to do with downside-protection or the desire to not lose any money as a VC. Here’s an example:

  • Say a company you led an A round in does not do well. Basically the outcome is a tiny exit that barely covers your liquidation preference i.e. the money you put in as an investor. Or you can secure a new financing but only at detrimental terms to the entrepreneurs due to anti-dilution mechanisms etc.
  • Option 1 is that you step back, think about what would be a reasonable outcome for everyone and try to split the cake in a way that everyone can walk away with their head held high (or at least: “a good compromise leaves everyone unhappy”)
  • Option 2 is that as a lead investor you get so obsessed (I have seen it become quite a sport) with protecting your investment that you squeeze every dime out of everyone else, using your liquidation preferences and minority rights / protective provisions.

Now there will be cases where things get ugly and this is not a carte blanche against using liquidation preferences in scenarios with low outcomes. I am talking about cases where it is being abused.

So in such a case – if you pull option 2, what you will have done as an investor is gotten your money back. What you will also have done is ruined your relationship with the entrepreneur, the angels and potentially other investors.

And what did you get in return? An amount of money that is irrelevant to the fund performance and some serious bad karma in the market with all negative consequences for your ability to work with these folks (and their extended network) going forward. It is short-term greedy and bordering on stupid.

Option 1 is also a greedy. But it’s long-term greedy as it means you are deferring getting money now for the chance to earn a lot more money down the road by being a good & reasonable VC to work with. I intend on being long-term greedy.


6 Comments on “Liquidation preferences, short-term vs long-term greedy”

  1. […] post by Ciaran O’Leary of Earlybird on how to manage liquidation preferences. Also worth following the […]

  2. I visit day-to-day a few websites and blogs to read articles, but this website
    presents quality based content.

  3. domain says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here coming from a different
    page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what
    I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

  4. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all people you really understand what you are talking approximately!
    Bookmarked. Please also consult with my web site =). We could have a
    hyperlink change agreement among us

  5. Greetings I am so grateful I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was browsing on Digg for
    something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute
    but I have book-marked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the excellent
    work.

  6. I like what you guys are usually up too. This type of clever work and reporting!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.


Leave a Reply

